Making Sense of the ECG

In this post, we will provide you with a complete overview of the book “making sense of the ECG” by Andrew Houghton & David Gray.

Also, a free download link is given below. Make sure to go through everything to understand what book you are downloading.

A brief Overview of making sense of the ECG book

The ECG Made Easy has been seen as the best introductory guide for the ECG for more than 40 years, with over half a million copies and over a dozen languages.

Awarded as a “medical classic” by the British Medical Journal, it is a favorite to medical and health care personnel for generations that needed simple and necessary knowledge of the ECG.

The popular book encourages readers to agree that the ECG is easy to understand and only naturally extends the history of the patient and performs a physical exam. The Electrocardiogram directs users to distinguish normal and irregular ECG patterns in a precise and simple way.

Essential Features available when reading making sense of the ECG book

Here are a few key features that have been highlighted in this book:

  • An insightful and realistic guide to a challenging topic.
  • Allows complete ECG experience of the diagnosis and regulation of irregular heart rhythms.
  • Enhances the function of the 12 lead ECG with realistic record replication.
  • The single page offers a simple 12-lead ECG presentation all in one page.

Table of Contents

There are a total of about 235 pages with 22 unique chapters that teach you everything you need to know about ECG’s.

Here they are:

  • Preface to the fourth edition
  • Acknowledgments
  • Chapter 1: Physiology and Anatomy
  • Chapter 2: where the waves originate from (PQRST)
  • Chapter 3: ECG recording (How to perform it)
  • Chapter 4: ECG recording (How to Report it)
  • Chapter 5: Heart rate
  • Chapter 6: heart rhythms
  • Chapter 7: Supraventricular rhythms
  • Chapter 8: Ventricular rhythms
  • Chapter 9: Conduction problems
  • Chapter 10: The axis
  • Chapter 11: The P wave
  • Chapter 12: Interval of PR
  • Chapter 13: The Q wave
  • Chapter 14: Complex QRS
  • Chapter 15: ST Segment 
  • Chapter 16: T wave
  • Chapter 17: Interval of QT
  • Chapter 18: The U wave 
  • Chapter 19: ECG Artefacts
  • Chapter 20: implantable cardioverter defibrillators  and Pacemakers
  • Chapter 21: Recording of ambulatory ECG
  • Chapter 22: ECG testing exercise
  • Annex 1: ECG resources
  • Appendix 2: Next edition assistance
  • Index

About the Authors

There are two authors of making sense of the ECG:

1. Andrew R. Houghton

Andrew R. Houghton is a United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust cardiologist consultant in the UK. He was elected to the Royal College of Physicians and also to the European Cardiology Society.

He studied in Nottingham and Leicester after leaving Oxford Medical School and spent a while in the U.S. as well. He is very passionate about medical education and is the Deputy Director of Medical Education in Lincolnshire.

He is passionate about helping others and working hard to improve the medical field.

2. David Gray

David Gray is a Medicine Reader and an Honorary Consulting Physician at the University Hospital of Great Britain in the Department of Cardiovascular Medicine. This ECG book is written in great detail by both geniuses.

We hope you found this review of making sense of the ECG book by Andrew R. Houghton and David Gray helpful.

If you have not read the overview, then do read it so you can understand what this book has to offer. We also wish every medical student with the passion of studying ECGs; the best of luck in all of his/her future examinations/ studies.

This is a well-written book and we, at WOMS, would recommend you download this to gain even more clarity over this topic.

Now without any further delay, here is the free download link to making sense of the ECG book:

Back to top button